Medicine Cricket


The Jack Cox Tournament is a Twenty 20 competition between the University of Oxford departments held every summer (May to August). Matches are played in the evenings at Balliol Sports Ground accessed via the University Club on Mansfield Road close to the centre of Oxford. There are two trophies to be won. The Jack Cox Cup and the Jack Cox Plate. The home page of the Jack Cox can be found here.

The tournament usually has 12-16 teams divided into groups and proceeds through a group stage before entering the final knockout stages. In 2019 there were 12 teams divided into 2 groups. The top 2 teams from each group went into the Jack Cox Cup semi-finals. The teams in 3rd and 4th places went into the Jack Cox Plate semi-finals.

Bowlers are restricted to 3 overs each and batsmen must retire at 30 but can return at the end of the innings if the rest of their team are out. These restrictions ensure a high level of player participation and successful teams must have depth in their bowling and batting ability. Detailed rules can be found on the Jack Cox website. Matches are played on an artificial wicket (no spikes allowed). The University Club serves food and drinks for post-match refreshments. The Medicine Cricket team have won the Jack Cox Cup 9 times since 2000 (info correct up to end of 2019).

2019: Medicine
2018: Rhodes House
2017: Engineering Science
2016: Osler/Green/Templeton
2015: Medicine
2014: Medicine
2013: Medicine
2012: Engineering Science
2011: Medicine
2010: Humanities and Social Sciences
2009: Engineering Science
2008: Chemistry
2007: Medicine
2006: Engineering Science
2005: Medicine
2004: Physics
2003: Physics
2002: Medicine
2001: Medicine
2000: Chemistry